NY, NY

I was in a bookstore in the Mission District this past weekend and saw a framed poem by Jack Hirschman titled “NY, NY”.

Of course, couldn’t help but think of our old home city and it seemed to capture how I feel. Here it is:

NY, NY – by Jack Hirschman circa 1983

It’s big

It’s ugly

I hate it

I love it

I’m free

O

Talk to me

Can’t you hear me

I can’t leave it

I’ll do anything for it

It’s so big

It’s filthy

It’s so sweet

I adore it

I’m staying

I’ll never leave

It’s in me

It’s so cruel

I hate it

I love it

It’s mine

I own it

It’s mine

Again and again

I say I hate war

I love it

It’s disgusting

It’s awesome

I love it

I won’t go

I promise

It’s beautiful

Talk to me

Can’t you hear

Me loving

O it’s so brutal

It’s so shit

Talk to me

What I should do

Anything

It’s marvellous

I’ll never stop

Loving it

Never never

Never never

Never.

Leave a comment