Where I’ve Been: Catching Up on a Whole Lotta Stuff Edition

Week of August 2, 2009

Friday (7.31.09) – It’s official. I got the job offer that relocates us to San Francisco, CA. Later that evening, I headed over to Long Island City, Queens to celebrate my friend JC’s birthday.

Saturday (8.1.09) – I met up with my brother in Manhattan at the West 79th Street Boat Basin. It was quite the summer scene there with lots of folks having brunch/lunch but I really liked it and enjoyed a burger and beer. Afterwards, I joined my friend BC and his wife LC and sister NC at my favorite Union Square bar – Lillie’s.

Sunday (8.2.09) – Had a great brunch with my friend LC in Park Slope’s Stone Park Cafe. I had the eggs benedict and washed it down with a Bloody Mary. Good stuff.

Monday (8.3.09) – My wife and I had dinner at our favorite Park Slope restaurant – Al Di La.

Tuesday (8.4.09) – Back at Lillie’s Bar in Union Square – this time with friends JC and DD. Later, my wife and I made our way to the Lower East Side to see our friend MD before he left NYC for another year at med school.

IMG_0469

Wednesday (8.5.09) – Road trip to Raleigh, North Carolina to see my family before we head West.

Thursday (8.6.09) – Hung out with the family at my sister’s house.

Friday (8.7.09) – We engaged in some retail therapy at Crabtree Valley Mall. Later, we did some grillin’ in the backyard – burgers and hot dogs.

Saturday (8.8.09) – We joined my sister, bro-in-law and two of my nephews (the other stayed at home b/c he wanted to watch our dog) for the Durham Bulls/Syracuse Chiefs minor league baseball game. Before the game, we walked around the surrounding area (former Lucky Strike plant that now houses shops/restaurants). I took some pics below.

IMG_1100

IMG_1108

We had a nice dinner at Cuban Revolution and then entered the stadium. It’s a great ballpark and overall terrific experience. I tried the Pilot Mountain Pale Ale from Foothills Brewery (Winston-Salem) while taking in the game. Some pics are below.

IMG_1101

IMG_1102

IMG_1105

Unfortunately, the Bulls lost 3-2. However, the fireworks show after the game helped ease the pain of the loss.

IMG_1122

Sunday (8.9.09) – Spent time with the family.

Monday (8.10.09) – Hopped in the car and headed back to Brooklyn.

Leave a comment